| Home | Suscribe to our Newsletter |

Education Bureau Registration No.:575690

ITIL® Intermediate Qualification


ITIL® Intermediate Qualification: Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC)

(earn the ultimate 5 point towards ITIL® Expert, updated to the latest ITIL® 2011 edition)

Why ITIL® Intermediate Certification: Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC)?
1. ITIL® Intermediate Certification: Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) will not expire.
2. Complete the ultimate requirement towards the ITIL® Expert certification (required 22 points, the certificate is worth 5 points). (Read more ...)
3. To claim PDU for PMP®.
Why Great Learning?
1. We are the IT soft skill specialist, highly experienced in delivering complicated and conceptual knowledge in an effective way.
Great Learning is an ITIL® Accredited Training Organisation.

  Course Objectives:    

Candidates can expect to gain competencies in the following upon successful completion of the education and examination components related to this certification:

  • Introduction to IT Service Management Business and Managerial Issues
  • Managing the Planning and Implementation of IT Service Management
  • Management of Strategic Change
  • Risk Management
  • Understanding Organisational Challenges
  • Service Assessment
  • Understanding Complementary Industry Guidance.
  Target Students:    
  • Individuals who require a business and management level understanding of the ITIL® core Lifecycle and how it may be implemented to enhance the quality of IT service provision within an organization
  • Individuals seeking the ITIL® Expert certification in IT Service Management for which this qualification is the final mandatory module leading to the Expert certification
  • Individuals seeking progress towards the ITIL® Master in IT Service Management for which the ITIL® Expert is a prerequisite
  • This may include but is not limited to, CIOs, Senior IT Managers, IT Managers and Supervisors, IT professionals and IT Operation practitioners.
  Course Duration:    
  30 hours / 4 sessions    
  Cantonese with English terms    
  Candidates wishing to be trained and examined for this qualification must already hold the ITIL® Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management and have obtained a further 15 credits (a total of at least 17 credits) as a minimum from a balanced selection of ITIL® Service Lifecycle or Service Capability qualifications.    
  ITIL® Approved Trainer    

Course Contents:


Learning Unit MALC01: Introduction to IT Service Management Business and Managerial Issues
• Open-loop and closed-loop, when/where to apply each system
• ITSM Monitor Control loops and Complex Monitor Control loops including how/when the control
loops are used
• The benefits and business value in relation to people, process and function, supplier relationships
and technological alignment

Learning Unit MALC02: Management of Strategic Change
• Value creation and critical success components of managing strategic change
• Introduce strategic change supported by a business case that defines the business benefits and
the benefits realization strategy
• Tangible/intangible business benefits and models for measuring each type of benefit
• Business Value enhancement through Variable Cost Dynamics and alignment of business policy
• IT and Business alignment through Demand Management, service portfolios and service

Learning Unit MALC03: Risk Management
• Risk within the IT and Business relationship and models for effective evaluation, analysis and
identification of Risk
• Management of Risk in the following areas: Service Providers, Contracts, Design, Operations and
• Analysis of Business and IT related Risks as measured by specific critical success factors and the
Corrective Actions and/or Transfer of Risks

Learning Unit MALC04: Managing the Planning and Implementation of IT Service Management
• The Deming cycle ( “Plan, Do, Check, Act”)
• IT Service Management implementation strategy including policy, strategy, design and transition
• Directing, controlling and evaluating – achieving business goals and using feedback
• Communication, Coordination and Control activities when implementing IT Service Management

Learning Unit MALC05: Understanding Organizational Challenges
• Organizational maturity and organizational structure
• Governance models and achieving and maintaining balance in Service Operations
• Organizational transition

Learning Unit MALC06: Service Assessment
• Service assessment measurements, metrics and monitoring
• The value of benchmarking
• Service Portfolio Assessments and corrective actions

Learning Unit MALC07: Understanding Complementary Industry Guidance and Tool Strategies
• COBIT, ISO/IEC 20000, CMMI, Balanced Scorecard, Quality Management, OSI Framework,
Annuity, Service Management maturity framework, Six Sigma, Project Management, TQM,
Management Governance framework, and tool strategies

  Accredited notes, exercise, and sample questions    
  HK$ 10,200 - Examination fee: HK$ 3,600 included    

Fee: included
Format: multiple choice, scenario-based, gradient scored questions. Closed book
Number of Questions: 10
Pass Score: 35/50 or 70%
Delivery: organized by Great Learning Education Centre
Exam Duration: 120 minutes

Paper and E-certificate will be granted after candidate passed the exam.

  Related Courses:    
  ISO/IEC 20000 Practitioner and Auditor Qualifications    
  Enrollment for ITIL® Intermediate Qualification: Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC)    

Schedule (confirmed):
13, 27 April, 4, 11 May 2019
1:00 - 8:30 p.m.
Price: HK$ 10,200 (include HK$3,600 exam fee)

ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.
The Swirl logo™ is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.
  Back to Top    
  Copyright © Great Learning Education Centre and AXELOS Limited 2014. All rights reserved.